Equine Neophyte of the Blood Desert

Published last night. It’s in my ‘new’ trademark of Fantasy, this time YA (same as Agoness).

Equine Neophyte of the Blood Desert

(Smashwords and Amazon )
red horse -smlabTrapped into potential slavery, no choices. Neesa plans her escape, prepares for the day she can be free to make her own choices. But on the day of Allocation, she’s accused of cheating, of manipulating the List, and when the Master of Horse comes to claim her as his student, the Master of Gold refuses. He has other plans for her, and none of them involve her remaining alive for long.
The only chance she has is to run into the desert of death, the red desert, and chase the Master of Horse. Better a death by desert than from the cruel hands of the Master of Gold.

Will be on CreateSpace soon (tomorrow?).

Oh, and I have 2 more reviewer copies available: cagedunn@gmail.com for requests (but I do check out your creds).


And now that it’s finished, and I was planning the process for the next story, what happened? I saw how to get Scrivener at 50% off. Participate in NaNoWriMo – and win! So I signed up (silly, silly, silly).

So, what do I have to work with? I looked at the three projects ‘on the go’ but they all have collaborators, so what else? And then it hit me – do something so completely different, no plan (except a beat sheet and the idea), and use the short-term ‘loan’ of Scrivener to do it (so I get used to Scrivener, and see if it’s what I want).

Good plan? No. The panic set in. Why? The word ‘plan’ – I gotta have it! How can I know where to put the highs and lows, the ‘moments’ that lead this way or that way or down the wrong path? Are we allowed to pre-plan? Do I have time to pre-plan AND learn how to use Scrivener?

Arrrrgggghhhh! It’s too much (that’s a Kung Fu Panda 3 saying, BTW – my fav movie [at the moment]).

But I’m going to do it anyway – a true test of a ‘completed’ first draft in 30 days (I’m rolling around on the floor, can’t get up, give us a hand, will ya?).

So, here’s the initiating idea:

Kraken, Dragon, Cat (aka Kangaroo, Cockatoo, Crocodile)

Who will rule magic?

The previous council and the tests of skill that forced Kraken against Dragon and Dragon against Cat – that was centuries ago. Now, the time has come for the other creatures to ‘volunteer’ – one from air, one from earth, one from water – but will they? Or will magic fade from the Earth forever?


At this stage, there’s no momentum to the idea, no structure, no goodies or baddies (although you’d think the croc must be the baddy – so I’ll make sure she isn’t!).


The race is on. The panic is settling in, the buzz is roaring – oh, that’s my stomach, must’ve forgotten breakfast again!

Ciao!

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “Equine Neophyte of the Blood Desert

  1. Your title, ‘Equine Neophyte of the Blood Desert’ is awesome and Neesa must be a horse. I am wondering what the day of Allocation is all about and the List is also very intriguing. If you mentioned this Scrivener software before, I probably was not paying attention, so I looked it up and I had no idea that there was anything around like this. I hope that you have you gotten over all of your computer problems.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Neesa is the person, because to know the name of the horse, one must be acolyte to the Guild of Horse – she isn’t, yet.
      Scrivener – I’m hoping it’s more stable than my current tool, and that I can keep things visible at all times without having a ‘box of scribbles’ by my side all the time I write … Do we ever get over the fear that all our work is gone? I’ve survived bushfire – but lost everything – house fire – ditto – travelled to a new place and when the truck turned up with our possessions – nothing (and of course, my first thought was ‘my stories!’). It’s life, not just computers – and I should’ve been more prepared (being an ex-professional in the area!). I’m lucky, I didn’t lose much but pride (but that, to some, is a big thing – and will my readers forgive that mess that I published?). C’est la Vie!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

